First lesson: Performance Enhancement Products (Week commencing: 19th October 2015)

For the lesson plan, mind maps were taken into consideration as I believe this teaching tool is very useful. Why? I feel it can give students the chance to provide additional information. This can be supported by Alamsyah (2009), who states that “Mind mapping is a useful technique that helps you learn more effectively, improves the way that you record information, and supports and enhances creative problem solving”.

Reasons, Consequences and Solutions!  IMG_20151020_122336

During my lesson, I made the decision to use a small amount of time on PowerPoint, actually only for 4 minutes (when you are explaining the next task!). Why did I make this decision? Because I feel PowerPoint is not a useful tool at times! Furthermore, PowerPoint’s seem to encourage students to sit through and perceived that they have ‘got the notes’ (Jones, 2003). Do I agree? Of course! Especially in a PE context, as most topics should be taught where students can with work other students or teachers through discussions, meaning they are able to share ideas and develop a further understanding. I thought it was important to express my passion of PE through my voice, body language
and storytelling. Noticed that I used different communication skills? I guess you could consider the need off a physical classroom environment where communication skills promote positive behavior and open support for students academically, socially and personally for the teacher and student (Geng, 2011).

IMG_20151020_122353

Overall, I must say that I enjoyed the lesson with a few adjustments that need to be made. For example, I will provide students with challenging questions their lack of encouragement to answer questions were fairly high and they need to be challenged. My view can be supported by Groneke & Paulus (2007) findings, stating that challenging questions were effective in promoting engaged student participation. I believe students shouldn’t have to feel that they lack the ability to answer or develop an answer. Therefore, it is my responsibility to help students develop their confidence and understanding!

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close