Investigating yourself

Hello everyone. I have been looking at ways to improve my Christian walk. Let’s be honest with each other, we all go through that phase where we backslide and forget our sole purpose of being here right? It’s normal but it’s dangerous and you cannot allow yourself to remain in that condition, otherwise you are leading yourself to a serious downfall. This week I was scrolling through the bible app on my ipad (as you do) and found a verse that really struck my eyes, especially when reading it in MSG version. For those that don’t know what that means it is The Message Bible version that I was reading. So here it is.. Psalm 139:23-24

“Investigate my life, O ‘God, find out everything about me; Cross-examine and test me, get a clear picture of what I’m about; See for yourself whether I’ve done anything wrong then guide me on the road to eternal life”

As I read through this verse, I observed a couple of things and asked myself a few questions. This is David speaking to God and these are the questions I asked.

  1. Why is David asking the Lord to investigate him?

Investigate means to discover and examine the facts of something. It is establishing the truth. David is showing us that sometimes we hide from the truth without realising. It is the same thing I feel he was experiencing himself. The Lord knows us inside out and David was asking God to examine him, to check what is right and wrong from him. It is clear that David is recognising that he is not perfect, in which case some of us struggle to do ourselves. We must recognise that we are not perfect and David is showing me that he is asking God to look into his heart. What I love about David is that how honest he is with God. David knows he cannot do things himself and he knows that he has made numerous of mistakes in his life. David really wants to see what is in his heart because he needs to know the truth. As it says in John 8:32 – You shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free. Running away from the truth only takes away your true identity of what God has created inside of you. What you think is a true identity is a fake one that was created by the evil influences of this world.

2. What does David mean when he asks the Lord to cross-examine and test him, and to get a clear picture of what he is about?

David wants the Lord to question him, to see what he is really about. If he is a follower of Christ or not? What decisions does he make which pleases the Lord or makes him upset? You can see that David really wants to know himself and what the Lord thinks about him. As I carried on reading, I noticed that he asks God to guide him to eternal life which his heaven. David doesn’t want to go to hell!! He knows what it would be like to enter hell and it’s powerful to see why he is so eager to build a relationship with God. Notice the word “Relationship”, getting to know someone very well. Imagine your best friend? You know your friend and they know you, and you can open up about everything and not feel a sense of judgment? This is the same thing that David wants to experience with God, he wants to feel a sense of love and to be guided. He wants God to be his Father and lead him to the right directions.

3. So how can you apply this into your life?

We have to investigate ourselves, but to do that we NEED GOD. We cannot come with solutions without God, we will always be confused and think the decision we have made were correct when they wasn’t. God knows us inside out… he created us. He knows us from top to bottom and knows our strengths and weaknesses. He is the solution to all of the things that we experience in our life. Like I said before, we cannot hide from the truth, we need to run towards the truth and be set free from any attachment from the devil. Imagine the Lord as a light. When it’s dark you switch the light on to see where you are right? Without that light, you end up hurting yourself, falling down or being scared because you do not where you are going. You will end up in the wrong place, doing the wrong things and living the wrong life.

Wrong place + Wrong things = Wrong life

God is a like a big torch that gives you a better view of where to go and where not to go. We must not be easily lead by what we see from the outside view and we have to question ourselves these things.

1: Is it worth it?

2: What would God think?

3: How would God reacts if I made the choices that are against him?

Then I realised something. If I know these things why do I still do it? It is because I am a sinner and it is so clear that I need God in my life and so do you. With God, the power to overcome and change is easier because the Holy Spirit is in me. That’s why it’s so important to pray for the Holy Spirit to be in your life because it speaks to you and directs you where you belong.

So whenever you feel that you are going downhill, ask God to investigate you and make the changes needed. Do not lose the faith. Always remain with God.

BLESSINGS

 

 

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close